Home was built in 1890 on a site purchased in 1884 by William Emmett and Mary R. Foshee. William was a native of Alabama, Mary was a member of the pioneer Shepperd family of Upshur County. Lumber for the house was sawed at the famous mill of John O'Byrne. In the early 1930's one of the first oil wells in the famous East Texas field was brought in here. Ironrock Oil Company is still operating. Emmett was also a lumber teaming contractor, farmer and justice of the peace. These pioneer parents left rich heritage to succeeding generations who still contribute traditional service to their community. Off Hwy 271, 409 N. Main St.